International Association of Surfing Academics

aaron sycamore

Aaron Sycamore

Graduate Student from The University of Southampton

Adam Doering

Associate Professor at Wakayama University

Afonso Teixeira

Researcher at Center for Surf Research
Amy Berry - Researcher Profiles - Center for Surf Research

Amy Berry

Masters in International Development
andrew warren

Andrew Warren

Lecturer in Human Geography, Department of Geography and Sustainable Communities, University of Wollongong, Australia

Aodhan Hickey

Research Associate Newcastle University
asier viteri

Asier Viteri

Director of the Surf & Boardsports Applied Marketing Program at Mondragon University, Spain
brad farmer

Brad Farmer

Founder of Surfrider Foundation Australia and co-founder of World Surfing Reserves
bron taylor

Bron Taylor

Professor of Religion and Environmental Ethics at the University of Florida
Brooke Porter

Brooke Porter

Professor at the Umbra Institute, Scientific Adviser
carla barbieri

Carla Barbieri

Associate Professor Equitable & Sustainable Tourism at North Carolina State University
Chad Nelson - Researcher Profile - Center for Surf Reseach

Chad Nelson

CEO Surfrider Foundation
chris gibson

Chris Gibson

Director, Global Challenges Program at University of Wollongong
Chris HInes

Chris Hines MBE Hon.D.Sc.

Co-founder and then Director of Surfers Against Sewage from 1990 till 2000
Dan Reineman

Dan Reineman

Assistant Professor CSU Channel Islands, Environmental Science and Resource Management
dan webber

Dan Webber

Wave Pool
daniel obrien

Daniel O’Brien

Associate Professor and Head of Program, Sport Management at Bond University
darrell strauss

Darrell Strauss

Research Manager
dean latourrette

Dean LaTourrette

Save the Waves Coalition
Christophe Guibert

Dr. Christophe Guibert

Sociologist at the University of Angers, France. Ph.D.
Dan Obrien - Researcher Profile - Center for Surf Research

Dr. Daniel O’Brien

Associate Professor - Bond University
easkey britton

Dr. Easkey Britton

PhD, Environment and Society, University of Ulster

Dr. Jason Scorse

Associate Professor - Monterey Institute of International Studies

Dr. Leon Mach

Center for Energy & Environmental Policy at University of Delaware

Dr. Lindsay Usher

Assistant Professor of Park, Recreation and Tourism Studies at Old Dominion University
Ed Atkin

Ed Atkin

Environmental Consultant & Co-director of eCoast
glenn hening

Glenn Hening

Founder of the Surfrider Foundation, and co-founder of the Groundswell Society
hamish rennie

Hamish Rennie

Senior Lecturer & Director of Planning Programmes
ian eddie

Ian Eddie

Professor of Accounting and Corporate
jack carrol

Jak Carroll

Lecturer and Gold Coast Coordinator

Jannik Dörr

Cand. M. Sc. Sports Tourism and Recreation Management (GSU).
Jeremy Lemarie - Researcher Profiles - Center for Surf Research

Jeremy Lemarie

PhD Candidate

Jesse Reiblich

joao taborda lopes

Joao Taborda Lopes

PhD candidate of International Health (Health and Development Policies)
kenneth liberman

Kenneth Liberman

Professor Emeritus of Sociology at the University of Oregon
laura sophia fendt

Laura Sophia Fendt

Lecturer at the School of Tourism and Hospitality Management at Southern Cross University, Australia
Laurent Georges

Laurent Georges

Associate Professor, IUT Tarbes, Toulouse III University, France
Maia Dery

Maia Dery

Professor and Developer at Guilford College
marcos bosquetti

Marcos Bosquetti

Assistant Professor at Federal University of Santa Catarina - UFSC, Florianópolis, Brazil
mark orams

Mark Orams

Co-chair of the International Coastal and Marine Tourism Society
Matt Willis - Researcher Profile - Center for Surf Research

Matt Willis

PhD Candidate
merv jefferies

Merv Jefferies

PhD ABD at the University of Victoria
Nick Sadrpour

Nick Sadrpour

Science, Research and Policy Specialist at University of Southern California (USC) Sea Grant
nick towner

Nick Towner

Senior Lecturer in Tourism Hospitality at Auckland Institute of Studies
nik strong-cvetich

Nik Strong-Cvetich

Executive Director: Save The Waves Coalition
pat moser

Pat Moser

Professor of French at Drury University
peter neushul

Peter Neushul

Senior Associate Researcher in the Department of History at UCSB
peter westwick

Peter Westwick

Aerospace History Project
philip furley


Lecturer (Studienrat im Hochschuldienst)
pierce flynn

Pierce Flynn

Previous National Executive Director of the Surfrider Foundation
robin canniford

Robin Canniford

University of Melbourne

Sam Bleakley MA Cantab

Senior Lecturer – Cultural Tourism Management BA(Hons)
Sam Wills

Samuel Wills

Assistant Professor of Economics, University of Sydney
scott laderman

Scott Laderman

Associate professor of history at the University of Minnesota, Duluth
serge dedina

Serge Dedina

Co-founder and Executive Director of WildCoast
sun-young park

Sun-Young Park

Associate Professor
Surfers Against Sewage

Surfers Against Sewage

Non-profit Membership
Thomas Mcgregor

Thomas McGregor

D.Phil (PhD) Candidate Economics, University of Oxford
tony butt

Tony Butt

Surfer's Against Sewage/ Save the Waves
trey highton

Trey Highton

PhD candidate from UCSC centered on surfing and globalization